My Quest for the Creative Life

Creativity. It rules the world. It’s a source of angst for some and an ultimate high for others. It’s confusing to adults and easy for children. Where does it come from? How do we hang on to it? What should I do with it? I am dying to know the answers!

For years I have been on a quest to discover where my creativity comes from. When I was 6 years old I wanted to be a writer. I vividly remember writing a story about a butterfly and I was completely hooked. I’ve noticed as I’ve grown older, school, parents, work…LIFE! has sucked the creativity I once had out of me and I have been left wanting. It’s been hard to work through the hangups of an inner critic created by those around me.

Regardless, I have always written. I have tried to stick to the advice of writing every day but it doesn’t always work for me. I do it for a week and then quit. I start and then stop. I have loads of short stories that I am too timid to submit. I stop when I get intimidated.  I have even more poems that have been heart wrenching to write that will probably never see publication. I have many many paintings that will collect dust because my inner critic says they are not good enough.

Aren’t we all hard on ourselves? I believe the inner critic is a collection of those small voices through the years that tell us we aren’t to pay any attention to the creative voice inside. Instead we are only to apply ourselves to other “important” things like the structure of academia and rules. While they have their place I believe they force us to ignore our one true love as children – our imagination.

Children love to play and use their imaginations. I long to go back to those days where I could tap into that. I feel lucky to be a mother because I vow to play and imagine with M as much as I can. I want to teach her how to keep her creativity through childhood and into adulthood.

I’ve not figured out how to do this yet, but I will. I’m determined 🙂

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Quest for the Creative Life

  1. Dorcas says:

    I think creativity is like a muscle. The more you exercise creativity, the more inspired you become. Like you, I struggle with making time in my day for painting, journaling, etc. Anything that feeds my creative soul. Sometimes, it is about breaking it down to small bits, like a small prayer. It is also about not being too hard on yourself. Sometimes creativity is the imagination you use to play with your daughter, or the way you resolve a conflict. Learning to recognize how often you need to use your creativity can be just as hard and finding time to write your new novel.

    • weelilwimsy says:

      I always liked your approach of painting something little everyday. Experts tell writers to do the same; write a little each day, because it is like a muscle. The more you use it the stronger you become. Blogs are amazing for that.

  2. Dorcas says:

    I can’t begin to express how excited I am for you. That you are writing a blog seems like really putting yourself out there. Your site is amazingly creative.

Leave a Reply

