What the Hell Was I Thinking?

I had a conversation the other day with a friend who is a vegan. He’s brilliant in his food approach and can make the most savory dishes from nothing. He scares the crap outta me though because I’m going to die from food additives, genetically modified food and milk poisoning. I can’t eat shrimp anymore after hearing that I don’t want to eat them while pregnant. The thought of biting into solid toxins makes me want to hurl it across the room.

I’ve been the one who refused to watch the documentaries about how our food is processed because I wanted to stay purposefully ignorant, but I’m finding that living in the state of Washington, it’s impossible. I wish with all that I have I would have never heard about mass production farming or farmed fish. I enjoyed food so much more than I do now.

I already belong to a veggie co-op and absolutely love it. I usually only join in summer but I’ve extended it because I want to get or salmonella poisoning from spinach . Maybe I’m developing food phobias and I need to move.

I went searching for organic everything after my conversation with this guy friend and found a local farm that sells organic meat. I was so excited, we packed my visiting parents in the car with the baby and went for a drive. The store is as tiny as a bathroom and it made me long to visit Wisconsin cheese factories again. I asked tons of questions, squabbled with the hubby over the difference of baby back ribs vs. spare ribs, and decided I wouldn’t be able to eat a ham from the grocery store(I’d be too grossed out). The husband told me to get whatever I wanted. So I got the ham.

I think I had a moment of insanity or my brain temporarily left my body. I ordered a bone in ham (so I could make soup later) for $8.68/lb. Seriously, $8.68/lb. I paid $64 for a dumb Christmas ham!! I know, right?!! This was by far the stupidest purchase for the year. I seem to make one every year. I guess this year it’s actually my fourth; I’ve gone overboard with professional baby pictures (that’s another story within itself). Last year I had regret over my breast pump.

For what I paid, I hope the little piggy had a fantastic upbringing. I hope he was happy and gleeful when he ate his pure grain, and was able to play with all the other little farm animals. Happy little pigs that play with the happy little chickens who lay happy little eggs for my happy little tummy. God I feel like shit.

This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What the Hell Was I Thinking?

  1. Wendy says:

    You should start raising your own pigs and you can use your breast pump on them to get milk. Hee hee!

Leave a Reply

