Throw That Crap Out!

Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on ~ Louis L’Amour

Do you ever have one of those days when your head feels like it is filled with junk and garbage, causing an inability to focus? In light of the New Year and those of us who typically make resolutions, it’s time to talk about clutter (especially if your house looks like this).

Today I was pondering what my expectations are for the new year (even though I didn’t make any resolutions) and I realized my head kinda resembles that picture! GASP!!! I looked around me and realized the rest of my life is a reflection of that. OMG! (physically, it’s just my closet – minus the GARBAGE). I’m not in disrepair or a dysfunctional mess, but I could use some general housekeeping.

I heard someone yesterday say to me, “get about your business and just do it”.  I thought it was a good motivator, but sometimes we  can’t move because of all the junk we’ve hoarded. If our lives are cluttered then things don’t flow so well. At least that is how it is with me. I’ve seen some of the hoarding shows, I know how it goes….it’s not pretty.

I’ve worked to at least organize the hypothetical piles around me, even labeling some of them.  Since I’ve already done the hard work of categorizing, I have decided I am going to tackle these piles one by one so I can find some freedom.

My main focus is creativity and increasing my ability to produce quality art. I have to create space for my spirit; allowing creativity to use me as a conduit. I want to introduce new things into my life, and I’m a firm believer that it’s hard for those new things to find me if I’m holding onto the past.  I want to get off the path I’ve been on, and say goodbye.

To start, I will move forward in banishing my negative self talk, firing my inner critic who has prevented me from accepting what could actually be, and writing down my goals. I’ve also decided I’m going to give when there is a need, whatever it may be. Helping others takes the focus off myself and allows power to be released in my life – and it makes me (and others) happy. The joy of giving is the greatest feeling in the world. If I gotta put on the scrubbing gloves and get into the grit of my life I might as well feel good doing it right?

This entry was posted in Creativity, Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

