The Pathway of Dreams

flowers Pictures, Images and PhotosRight now I’m held captive by a six month old. I am armed with a remote and an iPad as she sleeps in my arms. When this happens I either stare for hours at the TV or I start thinking. As tired as I am, I have decided to do the latter…..sigh.  Luck would have it, a repeated  phrase has been popping up everywhere I look. This is where I will either run and hide or face it head on. Today I’m feeling brave.

Honor the process. There it is. It’s out in the open for all to see. It is a nagging phrase. It’s a phrase that sometimes makes me want to fling myself on the floor like a two-year old until I get my way. But with who? I have encountered this more times than I’d like to admit, and the same questions always arise. Insert whining here…..Why can’t I get from point A to point M where I’m living my dream? Why do I have to work my way through B, C, the dreadful H, and painful K? Why do I have to be twisted into a pretzel when working through the challenging knots in my life?

I heard an analogy years ago to explain suffering and I feel it’s fitting to bring it up here.  A pearl starts out as a tiny grain of sand. As the water washes over it, the little speck is rubbed and rubbed and rubbed until it is raw, but with each gentle lap of water it is transformed layer by layer. Eventually that little grain of sand becomes something beautiful and priceless. Ugh. I hate when something rings true. Of course those of us that are in the process of transformation have to first believe that we have value before we can find beauty in it. If not, it will feel as though God or the Universe is throwing daggers at our soul.

In all my fussing and rushing I have realized time and time again, that I need to slow down and enjoy the process of my transformation. Like a butterfly, if I don’t honor the time to mature and morph into something else, I will miss my flight. I need to be responsible with the process in order to allow the doors of destiny to open. Besides, if I want to skip this part, I may miss my entire life 🙂

What do you struggle with when pursuing a dream?

This entry was posted in Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Pathway of Dreams

  1. Dorcas says:

    Thanks for the honesty. I get it. Personally, I struggle with feeling too comfortable with the status quo. As much as my feet are itching to move forward, there is an equal and opposing force to keeping me stuck where I am. If I move along toward my dream, I may also have additional responsibilities to manage, I may not be as good as someone else, etc. So, for me, moving forward takes determination and a willingness to take on the struggles you speak of.

    • weelilwimsy says:

      Wow, that’s a good one too. It’s the responsibility thing I want but hate the cost of receiving more. I think we all struggle with the “good enough” quotient.nthat inner critic should be shot! Haha

  2. BB_Baker says:

    Finding time for each person in the family is the biggest struggle for me. I have a 7 yr old a 2 yr old and my wife. It’s hard figuring out when to spend time with each. The 2 yr old is a daddy’s girl and wants my attention all the time, like the 7 yr old when he was that age. My wife knows why I spend my time writing and understands, my son is starting to, but it’s still not fun when I’m writing and they are doing the fun stuff. Enjoy the six month old they are so much fun at that age.

    • weelilwimsy says:

      I find it difficult too, to spend time with the hubby. Work and baby get so much of my time it’s hard to juggle it all. I love that blogging has helped in the writing department for me, but if it wasn’t a hobby and I worked as a writer I would definitely feel like everyone else is having fun. I admire your discipline! I’m slowly learning:)

  3. Bongo says:

    For me it’s staying focused. Instead of wanting to do everything and ending up doing nothing really well, I need to find what I most enjoy and put most of my time and effort into that. Great post.

    • weelilwimsy says:

      Oh my gosh me too! I read something today about a woman getting a sitter to help her have dedicated time to write. She got so overwhelmed with the extra time she did nothing. She lost her focus and creativity. I do that all the time…sigh. Thanks for sharing. I think we all can relate!

  4. Your last paragraph here rings true for me – as loud and clear as any bell. Actually it’s the second to last paragraph about the butterfly. There are many struggling butterflies out there! 🙂 As to your question at the end… my struggle is trying to find the confidence to express what I’m feeling and trying to believe that it’s worthwhile. “Honor the process”. I’ve learned and relearned this lesson many times. Thanks for sending it my way yet again!

    • weelilwimsy says:

      I’m so glad you found my post! Whenever I write something I never write for me. I always know someone who needs to hear it will stumble upon it. It’s amazing how different our journeys are and what each individual struggles with. Keep movin forward and always remember to enjoy where you are while you are on the way to where you are going 🙂

Leave a Reply

