Sweet Kale with Apples

I was doing my weekend cooking and did an experiment with kale. The husband was shocked at how good it was (truthfully, so was I). The only thing that would have made it better was bacon fat! I think I may try that next time, or make vinegar bacon vinegar dressing to drizzle. So many options!!

 

 

  1 Bunch of kale

2-3 Scallions

1 Apple cubed

1 tsp olive oil

1 tbsp brown sugar

Splash of lemon juice

Saute the kale and onions in the oil, add apples and lemon juice, coat with brown sugar, and cook until wilted. YUM!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sweet Kale with Apples

  1. Bongo says:

    I’ve never tried kale because it doesn’t sound appetizing. I may have to get brave and try your recipe.

  2. weelilwimsy says:

    I actually wasn’t too sure about kale, but I started eating it in salads and loved it. It’s a little bitter and tougher than lettuce, so sweetening it up might be a good test run! Enjoy!!

  3. As you know, I pretty much suck at cooking…. this recipe sounds wonderful and I’m going to try it! Thank you for sharing! …. also, wanted to let you know that in addition to my deep gratitude to you, I have honored you with (another) Versatile Blogger Award! …. I’m so glad our paths (blogs) met up! http://ihavetheperfectlife.com/2012/01/26/the-versatile-blogger-award/
    ~Ann

    • weelilwimsy says:

      Thank you! It was a lot of work (with a baby) to get the fifteen other blogs listed but I’m excited to do it again! I love to cook and plan on always having yummies to share, so we will get ya cooking!

Leave a Reply

