The Nitty Gritty Sunshine

This week has been grimy and full of gritty un-fun things. I’m happy friday is almost here! This week I have been making it a point to carve out some time to reflect each morning while getting my fill of caffeine. It’s been doing wonders for my inside person (reflection, not the caffeine).

I am HUGE on personal growth, because I don’t like to lose momentum in my life. I was unhappy for quite a large portion of my time here on earth, feeling like there is something missing, but unsure of what it was. I never got the results I was looking for in jobs, relationships etc. Once I realized it was me – and only me – that was responsible for my happiness (and not anyone else), I started on this path that I have found exhilarating.

As exhausting as my week has been, this personal time in the morning has helped me find a breath of fresh air for my spirit, and has helped me gather the energy to face the day. I have been reflecting on excellence and what it means. I realize excellence is not the prettiest of topics and it has an edge to it, but it does a great job of crafting my character. For that I am thankful.

I will leave you with some nuggets of wisdom I have found this week:

Excellence is getting up, going to work, going home, going to bed, getting up, going to work, going home, going to bed, getting…well you get the picture. It is a discipline of the mundane. I have learned that doing the same thing over and over and over and over until I want to scream, forges excellence or expertise if it’s a craft you are working on.

Excellence is integrity. Keeping your word and doing the right thing will make you feel fantastic when the day is done. To me this is energy. This is sunshine. When I divorced, I chose to take the higher path. I didn’t stoop to the level that my ex did in order to make me angry. I tried to stay pleasant (tried is the operative word here). I fought with everything in me to stay nice (I failed A LOT). In the end I got what I needed/wanted and I have nothing on my conscience. 🙂 yay me! This was golden advice from a close friend and I have him to thank for it 5 years later. Thanks Todd!

Excellence is love. Loving when I don’t feel like it. Loving when I want to run. Loving those that hurt meeeee….ouch (that is one I’m not a fan of). Loving myself enough to do the right thing for me!

Those are pretty heavy. I’ve hated every moment that I have had to hold myself accountable, but I am finding something great on the other side of it – FREEDOM. It’s me cleaning my internal house as I wrote about a few posts ago. It’s getting that nasty scrubber and goin in for the grime. This week, I have just scrubbed the corner of a dark place that was collecting mold and I’m pine sol fresh!

How do you get your day started? What experiences have you had in character development? With excellence?

This entry was posted in Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Nitty Gritty Sunshine

  1. lahgitana says:

    Ms Wimsy–I almost burst out laughing at your last paragraph–not because it was funny in the least, but because of how I started MY day! I posted a scathingly honest narrative about the pain in my birth family.

    Integrity is the big one for me, which can also be seen as boundaries, if we think about the meanings of integrity–such as structural integrity. Keep our Selves intact when life swirls around and still try to be the best human we can be. Failure happens, but it’s easier to forgive ourselves the more often we calmly enforce our boundaries and keep our integrity intact.

    Lovely post. So honest. I can smell your Pine-sol freshness over the airwaves!

    • weelilwimsy says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. I think we can all relate. Taking care of yourself is so important. As I get older I realize I have to be well before I can be there for others. Like you said, it’s boundaries which equal balance!

  2. Bongo says:

    You’ve got some great descriptions of excellence in this post.

Leave a Reply

