Books… How I Love Thee


As I was trying to say last night … I love books. It should be no surprise. Writers typically do love to read. I feel connected to my books and every one that I read becomes a part of my soul.

Today, I thought I would do a book review since I’m enjoying the Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. I am not finished with it yet but it is good enough to talk about at this stage. I was hesitant to pick this up because many of the reviews I read, called it elementary and a waste of time, or it was fantastic and life changing. I really hate extremes. To me there should be someone who sits in the middle to offer their opinion. I hope I can offer that to those that haven’t read it yet.

It is an easy read, especially on a Kindle. I think that is a good thing. My brain is tired after a hard day of work and it’s refreshing to fly through a book easily. The book is a parable about a shepherd who leaves all he has known to pursue his dream. At times he is  afraid, and at others he full of wisdom. The book has a religious tone, but it’s not overly done, which I like. Overall the message is good and I believe there are nuggets of wisdom that can be pulled away from the story.

One theme I have discovered is extraordinary things can happen in the mundane. In fact I believe we are one step away from an idea or decision that can forever change our lives. I like that a lot. Too often we can feel like we have nothing to offer the world and that we are stuck doing nothing spectacular for eternity. Sigh. It’s a feeling that has nauseated me since I was a child. Of course I have had grandiose ideas that are pretty unattainable, but I do believe with all of my heart that life should be an adventure.

A few quotes by Paulo Coehlo that jumped out at me were:

“Intuition is really a sudden immersion of the soul into the universal current of life, where histories of all people are connected, and we are able to know everything, because it’s all written there.”

If we were to open our internal eyes, how many of us would have this type of intuition? Better yet, how would it change your life?

“When you want something with all your heart, that’s when you are closest to the Soul of the World. It’s always a positive force.” 

Have you ever felt this type of momentum pushing you? What was it like? I love to live in this spot but it usually only lasts for a brief time. I do know it feels like I am in the right place moving toward my goal with clarity.

So much can be said of these quotes. I will leave that for another day. These are so beautifully stated and offered encouragement to me. I’m a dreamer and when life gets bleak, it helps to find things like this to savor.

This entry was posted in Personal Growth, Wimsy Items and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Books… How I Love Thee

  1. bibliopirate says:

    The Alchemist was an incredible book.

  2. Dorcas says:

    I love the quotes you added above. It seems that the feeling of “rightness” about a path we are choosing comes from deep inside, from the soul. I just finished reading my first Paulo Coelho book, “Eleven Minutes”, a book about a young woman who leaves her home in Brazil to go toward riches and adventure and becomes a prostitute. The book is about the dark side of sex and redemption.

  3. The thing that stood out for me in this book was how connections with people can enhance the momentum that you spoke about – when your mind is open to following your path in life and the road seems to unfold in front of you, it’s often people you meet at the right time that open new doors or make the path seem more visible. Even if the interaction is difficult and seems negative at the time and it seems to cloud your way, in retrospect it’s easy to see that it was the right lesson coming to you at the right time and you were moving ahead all the while. Books seem to do this for me, too – the right books fall off the shelf into my hands at just the right moment. 🙂

    • weelilwimsy says:

      You are so right. I see books the same way. At times they are for sheer enjoyment yet at others, they are magical and transforming. I couldn’t have said it better myself!

Leave a Reply

