Brainstorming

I am a firm believer that we need one another. Isolation is never productive, whether it is emotional or physical. Over the years I have learned one important key to my creativity as an artist/writer. People.

As artists we tend to think we need to be alone to work on our craft; to develop our ideas and create inspiration. Our world is full of beauty, interesting people, and quite frankly ugliness. Life can get pretty boring if we only sit in our little box and never reach outside to experience life. As a writer, characters emerge around me when I am out an about taking an artist day – as Julia Cameron suggest we all do. A walk around the block, a trip to the mall, or even work can be a source of inspiration. Without the outside world and other people feeding our senses we will find that not-so-special place where art can exist, and that is a bad place.

One source of inspiration that I find, is when I am with others that share my interests or talents. So many times I find myself talking with someone who has the same gift for writing or art (or whatever I am passionate about) and it inspires me. These conversations cause me to think about things in a different manner. The experience energizes me, igniting a spark inside. This spark causes my initial idea to take different rabbit trails of possibility and form into something new. It helps push my idea along until WHAM! I have that epiphany.

I found this Ted Talks video about where ideas come from. It’s about 18 mins long, but it’s fascinating to listen to the scientific evidence proving that innovation and creativity come from environments that encourage these type of conversations. It points to chaos and not isolation, and I like that!!

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brainstorming

  1. Dorcas says:

    Wonderful post. This is inspiring. I agree with you that others around us propel us to new creative ideas, new art. Thanks.

  2. Bongo says:

    We definitely need people for inspiration. Sometimes it’s hard to maintain a balance between people time and writing time.

    • weelilwimsy says:

      I have always wanted the time and space to write but I am now finding when I’m in the middle of it all, it’s my best work that gets produced. Life is hard to balance all the time, much less with writing. This kinda takes the load off 🙂

Leave a Reply

