Black History Month – Spotlight Artists

In honor of Black History Month (I know I’m a little late), I wanted to post about a few of my favorite things. I believe true artists are born out of adversity and these souls are some of the most beautiful.

Old Time Gospel:

Nothing can get me in a better mood than when I can clap my hands to “Oh happy Day” by Mahalia Jackson. I listen to a station on Pandora – called the Mahalia Jackson Station. It’s like Mowtown meets gospel. Nothin like it in the world! You can enjoy musical artists like Sam Cooke, Swan Silvertones, The Caravans, and Shirley Caesar.

 

 

 

Early Paramount:

One of my friends, Angela Mack, was a founder of an organization that celebrates the lost musical history of African-Americans in tiny little Grafton, WI. Here is the website:  http://www.paramountshome.org/  They have provided an educational history and a digital library celebrating those that loved and created music and were forgotten. My little blurb doesn’t do this discovery justice.

A spotlight of artists can be found at http://www.paramountshome.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=49&Itemid=57  ENJOY! So many great stories here!

Octavia Butler:

A friend of mine turned me onto this author last year and I’ve been in love since. She is known as one of the greats in the Science Fiction genre, and rightly so. She’s very eloquent, and it’s a pleasure to read her style. Her stories are diverse and imaginative, disturbing, and thought-provoking.

I am typically drawn to African-American history in the books I read. They are so full of passion, struggle, and the power of the human spirit. Kindred is no exception. This is a story of a woman who time travels back to the antebellum south to help save a white child. It’s heartbreaking and breathtaking in one fail swoop. I am excited to have found her books and will be reading them over and over again every chance I get!

There are so many fantastic men and women that have overcome and prevailed throughout the history of the United States. I am proud to celebrate their spirit and creativity!

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Black History Month – Spotlight Artists

  1. Bongo says:

    Thanks for sharing some great artists that I wasn’t aware of.

Leave a Reply

