The Power of Words

Since I have been struggling with writer’s block I thought this topic might be fitting. I’ve been reflecting on the power of words over the past few days. They are not just idle things that slip off our tongue and hang in space. I believe they carry power. The power to build up or to destroy. Many of us understand the power they have when someone encourages us, or if they demean us. They stick.

There is a wonderful children’s book that I read to my daughter about the power of words and how they can affect us. It teaches a beautiful lesson on why we should not care about what others say, rather we should know who we are, and where we came from. The story is about wooden puppets that are given stars for their talents and looks,and grey dots if they are blemished or do things wrong. I wonder how many dots I have collected over the years? I also wonder how many I have given to others….

Words are powerful. They stay with people and I honestly believe they have the power to create our destiny. Maya Angelou had a lot to say about words on Oprah’s Masterclass. I was blown away at her poignancy on how words have affected her life. There unfortunately, weren’t any great clips so I will refer you here:    http://www.oprah.com/own-master-class-the-lessons/master-class-stay-true-to-yourself.html#ixzz1ovx5c3LZ

“Words are things, I’m convinced. They get in your wallpaper. They get in your rugs, in your upholstery, in your clothes, and finally, into you.”

—Maya Angelou

As a writer, I want to be thoughtful of the words I put out in the universe. I want to be someone who creates positive change. I never want to contribute to a person’s collection of dots. I have a way to go ( I am human) but I do believe the first step is to admit I need to grow.

This entry was posted in Creativity, Personal Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Power of Words

  1. audrakrell says:

    I’m currently reading and actively pursuing the “The Artist’s Way.” It’s all about creative recovery and unblocking. She recommends that every morning you write 3 pages of just anything. I thought it was going to be stupid, but it has changed my life. Getting my thoughts out in the morning has freed me to write with abandon. Maybe you should give it a try to unblock.

    • weelilwimsy says:

      I love Julia Cameron. Her books have changed my life. I’ve tried the morning pages but was never disciplined enough to reap the benefit. Maybe I should try again, What a great idea to get rid of the writers block blues! Thank you!!

      • audrakrell says:

        Her point is that until we get out all of our crappy thoughts, we can’t create. I’m definitely seeing the benefits, even though 3 pages is long!

      • weelilwimsy says:

        When I go back to read some of my morning pages, I laugh because sometimes they are rants. I am shocked at how many times I wake up angry. Tells me I need to make some changes, which no-doubt unblocks a writer!

Leave a Reply

