Creative Beginnings

As promised, today is the first day of many Saturdays to come; working through a book on creativity.

The Right to Write by Julia Cameron is one I have had on my bookshelf for years. I have read it numerous times, and each time, it has caused me to start a new love affair with writing and creating.

Creative Beginnings

How do we begin? Where have we started before? What is the process of beginning over and over, while learning to let go in creativity’s embrace?

Children strive to communicate. As babies, we have our first encounter with words and creativity. We long to touch and move within the world around us. Babbling and small gestures are a part of our attempt to voice our desires. I have watched my daughter blossom as she learns to communicate; each week brings something new to her world. Children are enamored with communication and then as we grow up, we hate it. We hate writing, we hate reading…we just don’t want to involve ourselves with any of it. Why?

Julia pointed out that we are taught to write and create like good military soldiers. There is a methodology to each and everything we do, and spunk  is not allowed. There are grammar rules and vocabulary words to worry about. We try to sound smart and polished, instead of allowing what is screaming on the inside to get out.

I am a true believer that this, at times, is the cause of my writers block. I just don’t know where to begin and I get overwhelmed. The what if’s plague my first key stroke. I think about my readers and wonder where they will see the error in my punctuation or the misuse of a word. Bah! The list can go on and on and on…….sigh.

As artists we should create from the heart. Art is not a structured technique in any form. It is our soul smiling on a canvas; a deep thought translated in a brush stroke or photograph. My task this week is to let go. I am going to let the beginning find me. Once it does, I will walk that path to see where it leads me.

This entry was posted in Creativity, Working Papers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creative Beginnings

  1. I like this, I sometimes get taught not knowing what to write or editing my errors while i’m writing instead of coming back to it. I think i’m at my best when i write until the words stop then review later.

    • weelilwimsy says:

      I’ve done the editing portion as I write. I always lost my voice. It took a lot of trying and stubbornness not to listen to my inner critic. I’ve learned to just write and say it all. It’s so much fun to go back and edit. Thanks for sharing your experience. It’s nice to see someone else does the same successfully.

  2. Just remember to “keep writing.” I always tell myself that I’ll worry about how bad it is when it’s finished. That way when I get it done, I feel accomplished enough to care about tweaking the flaws. Good luck and have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

