This Art is Garbage

I will be designating Wednesdays to highlight art in whatever form it comes in. I find so many artists that have beautiful work, and I want to celebrate their creativity when I find it.

To start, I’d like to talk about a man I saw on TV a few years ago. I can’t find anything on the web about him or his debut on the local program – which to me is odd. This man intrigued me, not only because of his art, but because he involved local school children in it. They spent the day cleaning the streets of Seattle and then had fun with their collection.  As I searched for his online presence, I saw that there are many artists that are doing similar things; all with a different twist.

There is a genre of art that uses garbage as their media. I’m not sure how it smells when they use it, but they do create something beautiful. I don’t think this is a new technology (if I may call it that). As our culture has become more aware, sustainable living has popped up more and more. In this case, the sustainability and the good deed of keeping Mother Earth clean, is making it’s appearance in a creative way!

My only wonder is this…you know when you go into an antique store and you see the ugly paintings on the wall? The one, someone’s grandma created while she learned to paint by number?….Well, will this be one of those later on? I personally think they are beautiful and imaginative but one man’s trash is another man’s treasure. There may not be those that share my opinion.

A style involved in this media is Mosaics. They are created with unwanted items and I think that is very cool, simply because I don’t think I could do it 🙂 I would encourage you to look at Tom Deininger. I’ve added two of his creations, but you should definitely check out his portfolio.

Clam Shell Made of Cigarette Butts by Tom Deininger
http://www.tomdeininger.com

Self Portrait by Tom Deininger
http://www.tomdeininger.com

I wish I could find the man who cleaned the Seattle streets. His story was really was inspirational. If any of you know who I’m talking about – He was on Evening Magazine….help me find him! 🙂

This entry was posted in Artsy Faves, Creativity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This Art is Garbage

  1. yasniger says:

    YASNIGER nominates you for the VBA & Lucky 7 Awards!

    My gratitude goes to james369 ; http://thewayhome.me/ for norminating me for the Versatil Blogger Award (VBA) & Kellie Larsen Murphy: http://kellielarsenmurphy.com/ for the Lucky 7 award. I feel quite honored for the recognition. As it is traditional, I wish to extend the same curtsey to your blog. You’ll find details in my blog; http://yasniger.wordpress.com/
    Thank you for following and veiwing my blog!
    Yas Niger

    • weelilwimsy says:

      Yasniger, thank you for your belief in me as a writer and your friendship. I am honored. I also am extremely honored to pass this along to others. There are so many fantastic people with unique and wonderful talents that blog!

  2. yasniger says:

    Believe me, I’m not just being polite when I say you’ve got talent. Keep up the good work. Be safe.

  3. thanks so for sharing this artist’s work, I’m off to find more now!

Leave a Reply

