It’s None of My Business

Creativity is none of my business. Neither is it yours. What wants to be created just wants to be. We aren’t to stand in it’s way.

Julia Cameron’s The Right to Write this week is about laying a track for our creations to find a place to travel. What I found interesting about this, is that my mood really has been central to how good my writing turns out. What? I’ll say that again…My mood was to blame for the quality of my writing. Have you ever written anything that was so fantastic, yet the next day you tried to pick up where you left off and your Mojo was gone? Oh, let me tell you…this happens to me all the time. It’s truly remarkable how many unfinished pieces my portfolio holds (and I’m a little embarrassed to say so).

When we throw writing and re-writing into the mix, or pull information from our “how-to” book lodged in our brain, this really screws things up. It actually pisses me off (there’s my mood swing). It’s really where we get technical and block the way for our true creation to emerge. If you are a perfectionist like me, then you probably struggle with perfecting your sentence, your rhythm, or your punctuation. If you only write when you “feel” like it, this can also affect the quality. Creating is not about emotions. It’s about tapping into your place of genius and getting out of the way.

Today, I tried to help my husband polish an English paper for one of his classes. His persnickety teacher has deducted points for his arguments, his thesis, his punctuation, etc. Is he going to really use this in his professional life? Maybe if he’s a Journalist but he’s planning on a life in Public Safety. I’m sure it’s useful in some aspects, but NO wonder we get uptight when writing…it’s always to please someone else. Often times it’s an external source, but the majority of the time it’s our inner critic and this makes us down right moody.

I have learned as far as writing goes, that my logic brain is for second drafts. My rich, fertile, whimsical brain is for laying track ~ Julia Cameron, The Right to Write

When creating anything we should just go with it. Allow the first draft/attempt at anything, to be as rough as it’s supposed to be. Allow the second draft/attempt to be the one that gets technical. It’s more important for the meat of the story or the creation to get out of our brain into reality. Then we can tweak it.

What I have found by laying this track that Julia talks about, is freedom. It’s been so much fun to see what emerges from the place my creativity lives. It (and I’m not talking about voices that I hear or a small devil on my shoulder) shows me what wants to be created (my creative source). It’s so much better to have a wild abandon on the page or canvas than to obey structure and be stifled.

How have you overcome your inner critic to produce quality work? Where have your moods affected your work? How do you handle first and second drafts?

This entry was posted in Creativity, Working Papers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s None of My Business

  1. fivereflections says:

    julie’s books are great…. enjoyed this post
    David in Maine USA

Leave a Reply

