Drama Mama

Drama. We all have it. We all live in it – one way or the other. It can suck the life out of you and it will suck the life out of your creativity.

Today’s Right to Write by Julia Cameron’s topic is about keeping the drama where it belongs….in your art, not your heart. It’s easy to be caught up in the mess of life. Whether it’s ours or someone else’s it can screw with your mind. It will drag you down, sap your time, and completely eat at your happiness and creativity.

I’ve been reading another book this week that speaks directly to this. Take time to get away from the drama…all your stress and excuses… and just enjoy life. All of us can do that, but those of us that are artists, who thrive on exercising our creativity, can truly benefit from this. When we learn to relax and keep the drama where it belongs – on the page/canvas etc – life can become a joy again. I never want to create when I’m feeling grumbly inside. I typically enjoy pity parties when I get to that point, and creativity backs off like I’ve got the plague. Can you blame him/her?

It’s tough to walk away when we feel like we have to fix everything. I am learning that I can’t control the Universe. Someone else does that job. Mine is to be happy in my life, doing what I love to do. The problems of today will eventually work themselves out, and a month or two from now, I won’t even remember what it was I was anguishing over.

Do yourself a favor and find something to enjoy. If you aren’t sure what that is anymore….make a list of the things you love, and pick one to accomplish when you are feeling blue. You can also create 🙂 I know it always cheers me up!

This entry was posted in Working Papers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drama Mama

  1. Mandy says:

    Great advice! I also recently found out that I can’t control everything in my life – and it was kind of a shock. I work in a corporate office environment and there is always some drama going on that I have to try to distance myself from. It’s hard balancing work, home life and personal life but having a hobby and doing things that I enjoy definitely helps me get back to basics and stay stress free. Love this post, girl!

    • weelilwimsy says:

      I just that clue too! So hard to let it all go and be free. Glad you liked the post. I am such a type A….It’s nice to know there are others out there like me too!

Leave a Reply

