Glass Art – Pushing the Limits Part 1

The Pacific NW in the United States is a playground for artists. The area celebrates creativity. I find it fascinating that it rains so much here, but the creativity and the art that is born is colorful and and full of life.

One of our treasured artists is Dale Chihuly. He is well known around the world for his beautiful creative glass work. If you have been to Las Vegas, his creations adorn galleries and the Bellagio hotel lobby. I’ve only experienced a sliver of what he has accomplished, but I have found that his artwork has inspired many to follow in his footsteps.

 

Glass art is unique. It has an element of danger to it. I believe many are drawn to it because of it’s unusual presentation. I found a few YouTube videos (and there were plenty to choose from) to share. I also have divided this post into two parts. Part 1 to celebrate Dale’s work, and to introduce the marvel of his creativity to those that may not know about him. Part 2 is about how his art has inspired and stimulated not only our physical senses, but the local community.  Art really has come full circle when it is used to inspire goodness in others. I can’t wait to share what I found!

Here is a video of his process and what he thinks about creativity.

This one is a time lapse of one of the many chandeliers he produces. It’s phenomenal. I had no idea it took that much work, or that it was done that way!

This entry was posted in Artsy Faves, Creativity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glass Art – Pushing the Limits Part 1

  1. clownonfire says:

    Jeni,
    Wow. That’s all I can say.
    Le Clown

  2. Beautiful! Leaves me breathless.

Leave a comment